The absence of dog poo in Dublin

July 25, 2012

On my recent trip to Dublin, Ireland I spent a fair amount of time walking it’s streets, and I made the most peculiar observation; the streets seemed to be free from dog poo.

Now I can think of three possible explanations to this

1. there are no dogs in Dublin
2. there are dogs in Dublin but they don’t poo
3. there are dogs in Dublin and the owners of the dogs are very careful to always pick up the poo their dogs produce

If the first assumption is true, I would like to congratulate the  people of Dublin. I must admit that I’m not particularly interested in, or even fond of, dogs. But if they are to exist, let’s agree the city is not the place for them.

If the second assumption is true, I would like to congratulate the people of Dublin.

If the third assumption is true, I would like to congratulate the people of Dublin. A city where the residents show such respect, consideration and compassion for their fellow inhabitants must be lovely to live in.

2 Responses to “The absence of dog poo in Dublin”

  1. paddyK Says:

    I believe the answer is probably to do with most Dublin rental apartments being owned by private landlords, who forbid pets. And also perhaps the Irish are smart enough to not keep dogs in tiny apartments. We keep large families instead.

Leave a Reply

